| polski | english 

04 - 22 October 2000

Attended by 94 pianists from 25 countries.
The qualification system has been essentially different from the set of regulations adopted
at the preceding editions of the Competition. The assessment of the quality of each contestant's
interpretation was based upon two systems.

System A
consisted in putting a mark in the form of a "yes" or "no" statement at the name
of each participant on the list. After each of the first three stages this system
meant the admittance /or non-admittance/ of the participant to the next stage;
it became also the base for awarding special prizes.

System B

was based on the number of points:

1.after the 1st, 2nd and 3rd stage on the scale ranging from
1 to 100 acting as supporting system

2.after the final stage on the scale of points ranging from
1 to 12 acting as system applied at awarding the statutory prizes

After completing the auditions of a given stage and performing the calculations, the Jury members
were presented with the auditions results in the form of a list of figures showing the "yes"
statements arranged in the order from the highest to the lowest figure, without, however,
the arithmetical averages of point marks. The Jury then decided in open ballot at which item
the record of "yes" statements qualifying the contestants to be admitted to the next stage
should be closed. In case of a failure to select a fully numbered group of participants
to be admitted to the next stages by applying of the System A, the System B was employed
and admitted were the subsequent participants who gained the highest number of points.
The number of competitors to be admitted to the particular stages has
been stipulated in the Set of Rules of the Competition.

Prize I

Yundi Li
Prize II

Ingrid Fliter
Prize III

Alexander Kobrin
Prize IV

Sa Chen
Prize V

Alberto Nose
Prize VI

Mika Sato

The Fryderyk Chopin Society and Warsaw City Council ex aequo prize for the best performance
of a polonaise
-Sa Chen (China), Yundi Li (China).

The Polish Radio prize for the best perfomance
of the mazurkas
- not awarded.

The National Philharmonic prize for the best performance
of a concerto
- not awarded.

Honourable mention:

Ning An (U.S.A.), Etsuko Hirose (France), Valentina Igoshina (Russia),
Radosław Sobczak (Poland), Nicolas Stavy (France), Mihaela Ursuleasa (Romania).