| polski | english 

01 - 21 October 1990

Attended by 110 pianists from 28 countries.
The jury assessed the perfomance of the candidates on a scale of 1-10 points
in the first stage and 1- 25 points in the second and third stages.
The results of the separate stages and the finale were determined exactly
as for the eleventh Competition.

Prize I

nie przyznano
Prize II

Kevin Kenner
Prize III

Yukio Yokoyama
Prize IV
(ex aequo)

Corrado Rollero
Prize IV
(ex aequo)

Margarita Shevchenko

Prize V
(ex aequo)

Anna Malikova
Prize V
(ex aequo)

Takako Takahashi
Prize VI

Caroline Sageman

The Polish Radio prize for the best perfomance
of the mazurkas
- not awarded.

The Fryderyk Chopin Society Prize for the best performance
of a polonaise
- Kevin Kenner and Wojciech Switala (Poland).

The National Philharmonic Prize for the best performance
of a concerto
- not awarded.

Honourable mention:

Koji Oikawa (Japan), Philippe Giusiano (France),
Kyoko Tabe (Japan), Hiroshi Arimori (Japan).