| polski | english 

01-20 October 1985

Attended by 124 pianists from 32 countries.
The point system, its calculation, and the selection of candidates for to the next
stage were identical to the ninth and tenth Competition. The results of the second stage
were established on the basis of a sum of the averages achieved by the participants
in the first and second stages; the outcome of the third stage, on the basis
of the sum of the averages obtained in all three stages while the results
of the finale were decided on the basis of the sum of the averages
of points won in all stages and the finale.

Prize I

Stanislav Bunin
Prize II

Marc Laforêt
Prize III

Krzysztof Jabłoński
Prize IV

Michie Koyama
Prize V

Jean-Marc Luisada
Prize VI

Tatyana Pikayzen

The Polish Radio prize for the best perfomance
of the mazurkas went to
Marc Laforet.

The Fryderyk Chopin Society Prize for the best performance
of a polonaise was awarded to
Stanislav Bunin.

The National Philharmonic Prize for the best performance
of a concerto was presented to
Stanislav Bunin.

Honourable mention:

Fran(ois Killian (France), Ivari Ilya (USSR), Ludmil Angelov, Kayo Miki (Japan)