| polski | english 

07 - 25 October 1970

Attended by 80 pianists from 28 countries.
The jury assessed the candidates on a scale of 1-25 points.
The second stage was reached by 24 participants in an order decided by the average
of points won in the first stage. The sum of the average points obtained in the first and second
stages was used to admit 12 pianists to the third stage. The sequence of prizes was decided
on the basis of the sum of the average points won in all three stages.

Prize I

Garrick Ohlsson

Prize II

Mitsuko Uchida
Prize III

Piotr Paleczny
Prize IV

Eugene Indjic
Prize V

Natalya Gavrilova
Prize VI

Janusz Olejniczak

The Polish Radio prize for the best perfomance
of the mazurkas went to
Garrick Ohlsson.

The Fryderyk Chopin Society Prize for the best performance
of a polonaise was awarded to
Piotr Paleczny.

Honourable mention:

Emanuel Ax (USA), Alain Neveux (France), Ikuko Endo (Japan),
Karol Nicze (Poland), Ivan Klansky (Czechoslovakia)