| polski | english 

22 February - 13 March 1960

Attended by 77 pianists from 25 countries.
The jury assessed the artistic interpretation of each participant according
to similar principles to those used in 1955. From this particular Competition onwards,
separate points were given not only for the performance
of the mazurkas but also for a polonaise which also had a special prize.

Prize I

Maurizio Pollini
Prize II

Irina Zaritskaya
Prize III

Prize IV

Li Min-Chan
Prize V

Zinayda Ignatyeva
Prize VI

Valeri Kastelsky

The Polish Radio prize for the best perfomance
of the mazurkas went to
Irina Zaritskaya.

The Fryderyk Chopin Society Prize for the best performance
of a polonaise was awarded to
Irina Zaritskaya.

Honourable mention:

Alexander Slobodyanik (USSR), Jerzy Godziszewski (Poland), Józef Stompel (Poland),
Michel Block (Mexico), Hitoshi Kobayashi (Japan), Reiya Silvonen (Finland)