| polski | english 


22 February - 21 March 1955

Attended by 77 pianists from 25 countries.
The jury assessed the performance of the Competition participants by applying a scale of 1-25 points.
Only those participants who received a minimum average of 16 points in the first stage passed
to the second stage, while the third stage was reached by those candidates who received
a minimum average of 18 points in the second stage.
Prizes and diplomas of an honourable mention depended
on the sum of average points gained in all three stages.

Prize I

Adam Harasiewicz
Prize II


Vladimir Ashkenazy
Prize III

Fou Ts'Ong
Prize IV

Bernard Ringeissen
Prize V

Naum Shtarkman
Prize VI

Dmitri Papyerno

  Prize VII Lidia Grychtołówna (Poland)
  Prize VIII Andrzej Czajkowski (Poland)
  Prize IX Dmitri Sakharov (USSR)
  Prize X Kiyoko Tanaka (Japan)

The Polish Radio prize for the best perfomance of the mazurkas went to Fou Ts`Ong.

Honourable mention:

Oscar Gacitua (Chile), Tadeusz Kerner (Poland), Malinee Peris (Ceylon),
Giuseppe Postiglione (Italy), Manfred Reuthe (West Germany), Imre Szendrei (Hungary)